Over the past week I tried three polishes that would actually make a nice coral ombre manicure. The first was Essie Hip-anema (Spring 2013), a fiery red-orange creme:

Hip-anema

Picture taken in weak sunlight. (This looks slightly more red in real life.) I don’t know what it is about red-oranges; they certainly aren’t lacking in color, but I find myself always needing three coats to achieve an even-looking finish. This still applies smoothly, so it’s streaky only in appearance, not formula. I have to add a third coat to cover up the dark spots that are still apparent after two. I love the red-oranges that lean really red! This one is very bold and bright, perfect for warm, beachy weather. I think this hot, fiery color fits perfectly well with its namesake, Ipanema. I paired this with China Glaze Bahamian Escape on my toes.

<3sarah

