With this mani, I’m finally finished trying all the Hunger Games polishes I have. It’s a small accomplishment but getting through a collection feels nice. 🙂 China Glaze Smoke and Ashes (The Hunger Games Capitol Colors) is a black base loaded with blue-green microglitter:

Smoke and Ashes

Picture taken in sunlight. I wouldn’t say the formula is buttery smooth, but I chalk that up to all the microglitter in the base. It still applied quite well in two coats. In low light this looks like your typical sparkly black. In the sun, though, it’s anything but. Bright light illuminates all that microglitter. There’s so much of it that it gives the overall color a sort of blackened teal cast. The finish definitely has that glowing embers just under the surface quality going on. I don’t think I have another black microglitter that looks quite like this; it’s absolutely stunning and gorgeous. I paired this with Sephora by OPI Teal We Meet Again on my toes.

<3sarah

