So far this month I’ve been trying one red polish per week, so I’m continuing the pattern with OPI The Spy Who Loved Me (Skyfall Collection, Holiday 2012), a bright candy apple red with red and gold microglitter:

The Spy Who Loved Me

Picture taken in natural light. (Unfortunately the lack of sunlight doesn’t show off how it sparkles, but with the depth this polish has, you can still see that it’s there.) This applied well; even with the slight jelly-ness of the base, the formula was still pigmented and I got complete coverage in two coats. This type of polish is not unique, but I still get at least one every time the holiday collections roll around because red microglitters are gorgeous! I love how the formula is strongly pigmented but still appears sheer enough to let the microglitter shine through. The depth of finish combined with the smooth and glossy surface makes it seem like I’m looking at the glitter through glass. Perhaps I’m being influenced by the gloomy weather but this looks extra bright and cheery. I can see why this shade of red has the word “love” in the name; in addition to being very holiday-appropriate, it also looks Valentine-y. I paired this with China Glaze Poinsettia on my toes.

<3sarah

