After wearing a more unusual, avant-garde color for my last mani, I wanted to go for something in the opposite direction and picked a more traditional color. American Apparel Rouge (Fall 2010) is a dusty, deep rose creme:

Picture taken in sunlight. This applied smoothly and was very pigmented; I needed two coats for full coverage. This kind of color can be seen as matronly but I was surprised at how much I liked it when I put it on! When I think of a “dusty rose” I normally picture a shade that’s lighter, or one that looks more peachy-pink, but this one has a lovely reddish tone, resulting in an overall darker shade. When I look at this I don’t think old-fashioned; I think retro. For me it conjures up images of ’40s cosmetic ads so I can see why it was named after the makeup (Although the first time I saw this I immediately thought of pink pearl erasers). I paired this with Color Club High Society on my toes.

<3sarah

