While I was happy to cross all those metallic polishes off my untrieds list, I’ve really missed bright colors over the past couple of weeks. I thought the perfect way to get back into it would be to start with NARS’ Indian spice market-inspired collection. NARS Lal Mirchi (Thakoon for NARS, Summer 2012) is a bold red-orange creme:

Picture taken in natural light. (This looks brighter and more obviously red-orange in real life; with the lack of sunlight it’s looking a little too orange here.) This applied very well; the formula was smooth and pigmented. Despite this, though, I still found myself needing three coats for that fully even look. While I wished this were a two-coater, I didn’t mind doing the extra coat since the formula was so nice. This is a great, fiery (it really does remind me of its spicy namesake) shade of red-orange, and I love how bold and saturated it looks. I had already gotten the other five polishes from this collection at Sephora, but once I heard about this one, I just had to go down to NARS’ Bleecker St. location to get it and truly complete the set. I paired this with Color Club I Always Get My Man-darin on my toes.

<3sarah

