I picked out this gold polish to wear over the final weekend of Olympic tennis, hoping to see Novak Djokovic win the gold medal. Unfortunately, the best he can play for now is a bronze. Although it’s held at the same venue, it’s definitely not the same Wimbledon. From the colored kits to the excitable crowds to the three-set format for the men, the Olympic tournament created a totally different atmosphere at the All England Club. Yet we’re exactly where we were one month ago: Federer vs. Murray in the finals. *sigh* I guess I’ll have to wait to get some joy in Rio. OPI Just Spotted the Lizard (The Amazing Spider-Man) is a duochrome metallic shimmer that shifts between antique gold and serpent green:

Picture taken in sunlight. This applied well in just two coats. Being a metallic, there were brushstrokes, naturally, but there’s so much shimmer in there that it effectively masks them. I skipped on Chanel Peridot because I didn’t like it enough to pay $25 for it. However, I was definitely willing to get an exact dupe at a fraction of the cost (and as I’ve heard, one with a better formula and pigmentation). I can see why there are several versions of this exact color out now; it’s stunning! Duochromes can be disappointing; they’ll look great in the bottle but not as good on the nail. The color-shifting in this one is quite obvious, and the colors work really well together. When looked at straight-on, gold is the main color (with a bit of green on the sides), and the full green shift comes out when you view your nails from different angles. I love this shade of gold; it’s warm but because of the green, it’s not too yellow. The shimmer is also gorgeous; aside from keeping the metallic finish from looking frosty, it creates a delicate but intense sparkle. I love it; I keep stopping to just look at my nails. I paired this with Sephora by OPI Mash-Up on my toes.

<3sarah

