The polishes from China Glaze’s Khrome collection are not the only long-standing untried metallics I have. To break things up a bit I’m wearing Lippmann Marquee Moon (Fall 2009), a gunmetally silver metallic shimmer with large silver hexagonal sequins:

Picture taken in sunlight. This applied pretty well; I needed two coats for full coverage. It’s a little brushstroke-y there is enough shimmer in there to keep it from looking frosty. When  this was released I went back and forth over whether I wanted to buy it, and I finally did, despite reading some unfavorable reviews, just because it was so unique-looking. I kept putting off wearing it because I was afraid it just wouldn’t look that good. Now that I have it on, I can say that I like it a lot more than I was expecting to (I think it looks much nicer in person than in photos.) It’s pretty easy to get multiple sequins on each nail, as long as you don’t do too-thin coats. I would often just put a bead of polish on the nail then spread it out. I wish it was pigmented enough to be a one-coater, though. You can end up covering some of the sequins from the first coat when you apply the second coat. It’s best to wait a few minutes before applying topcoat to give the sequins time to rise to the surface. I call this color a gunmetally silver because it seems darker than a typical silver, and it’s also darker than the sequins, making a good enough contrast. The sequins are quite large and the ones that rise to the surface are very reflective. So far I’ve only tried one other Lippmann polish that has sequins, and I prefer it when they’re set in a jelly base rather than a metallic base, but this is still a cool look. I paired this with Lippmann Rhapsody in White on my toes (I can’t believe I own this; my tastes have certainly changed over the years.)

<3sarah

