For the 4th of July tomorrow, I wanted to wear a red polish, and I picked one that’s still in line with my Brit theme, as Wimbeldon progresses through the quarterfinals. Nails Inc. St. James is a bright candy apple red with subtle shimmer:

Picture taken in sunlight. (This actually looks a little more bright-red in real life.) This applied well and was quite pigmented, but for some reason I still needed three coats for full, even coverage (just to cover up very slight bald spots.) Doing three coats was no problem, though, because the formula was smooth. When I first saw this I assumed it was a creme so of course I went for it. It was only after I gave it a closer inspection that I saw it was full of very subtle shimmer. You can kind of see it in the photo, but it is easy to miss if you’re not looking for it. The shimmer may be subtle, but it’s not one of those polishes that I would call a creme for all intents and purposes. Normally when I see solidly pigmented polishes with subtle shimmers, I say that the shimmer gives a slight sheen to the finish, but in this case, the shimmer gives the finish a sort of glowy appearance. This is best viewed in direct light; not only does it bring out the pretty shimmer, but it brings out the true brightness of the color. I love this shade, it’s a quintessential pin-up red. It’s bright and warm, but not too orange. Doing three coats gives a very high level of pigmentation, which just makes it look so red. It totally makes me think of the Red Apple flavor of Jelly Belly jellybeans, the one that’s bright red and opaque. 🙂 I paired this with Essie Mesmerize on my toes.

<3sarah

