I thought I was done with dusty polishes and was getting ready to jump into spring greens, but then I just remembered I owned this polish and wanted to try it now. Since spring doesn’t officially start until tomorrow anyway, I’m saying farewell to winter with Essie School of Hard Rocks (Winter 2011), a soft light teal creme:

Picture taken in sunlight. This applied well in two coats. I’m more used to (and love) seeing the dark, vampy teals, but this is a welcome difference. In addition to being a lighter, dustier shade, it’s also more green-leaning. It’s soft but still quite richly colored; it looks very pretty. It doesn’t make me think of jewelry (with the theme of this collection, I was expecting the polishes to look more jewel-toned), but this shade looks just like the color of the newer kind of chalkboard, so the name is perfect in that sense. I paired this with OPI Skull & Glossbones on my toes.

<3sarah

