We’re in the home stretch of awards season and in anticipation of the Oscars tomorrow (I have my fingers crossed for the Artist!), I’m wearing OPI Not Like the Movies (Katy Perry Collection), a silvery lavender-seafoam green metallic shimmer duochrome:

Picture taken in sunlight. This applied well; the formula was pretty sheer so I needed three coats to build to opacity. This has a metallic finish so the brushstrokes come with the territory, but it’s shimmery so it doesn’t look terribly frosty. Plus, there are some bits of microglitter that are perfectly incorporated into the mix, masking the brushstrokes even further and providing an extra twinkle. I tried to pick a photo that showed both the green and purple elements of the polish, but the strong duochrome effect is best seen in real life. The silvery lavender is what you see when you look at your nails straight on, then the color changes to the silvery seafoam green as you tilt your nails upward. The seafoam green makes me think of the ocean, but the silvery-lavender aspect gives me an intergalactic vibe, so it all makes me think of…space mermaids? I paired this with OPI Have You Seen My Limo? on my toes.

<3sarah

