For a change of pace from all the bright reds and pinks I’ve been trying this month, today I’m wearing Illamasqua Kink (Theatre of the Nameless, Fall 2011), a bottle green satin creme:

Picture taken in sunlight. This applied well and went on smoothly. Knowing that my last few satin manis have ended up a little bubbly, I avoided that this time by working slowly and doing three thin coats (resisting the urge to fill in bald spots along the way.) Looking at my nails and having the name in mind, I immediately thought of liquid latex body paint. 😉 While I admire the lovely satin finish, I knew it wouldn’t stay pristine-looking so after I took the photos I put on topcoat. Regrettably, it takes away what this polish is all about, but my mani will at least last a couple of days without getting totally wrecked. I love the color so I didn’t mind making that compromise. It’s an intriguing shade of green; it seems to have an extra hint of blue that keeps it from looking like a pure green, but it’s not obviously blue-toned. Illamasqua calls this “bottle green,” a description I adore and can’t get out of my head. Now I can’t describe this color any other way, especially after looking up “bottle green color” and seeing that it looks just like this polish! I paired this with MAC Beyond Jealous on my toes.

<3sarah

