I knew I wanted to wear a red for Valentine’s Day tomorrow, and as soon as I saw this I knew it would be perfect. China Glaze Love Marilyn (Eye Candy, Winter 2011) is a red and silver hexagonal glitter packed in a clear base:

Picture taken in sunlight. This applied well; I reached opacity in two coats with touchups in between. I’m starting to get a hang of using these 3D glitters. It’s great how they truly build to opacity on their own. You don’t really do “normal” coats with this kind of polish. The first coat will look sparse, but it’s a foundation for the additional coats to hold on to, and it only makes sense to fill in obvious empty spots in between coats. Since these kinds of glitters make thick manis, I only use one coat of topcoat, which doesn’t make the finish feel very smooth, but keeps it from looking flat. I absolutely love this; it’s so gorgeous and sparkly!! There’s something so glamorous about the red, and the pops of silver hex glitter give the look an interesting dimension. I’m stopping to look at my nails now because this polish is just amazing. I paired this with OPI Comet Loves Cupid on my toes.

<3sarah

