I’m trying out a different basecoat and since my last two glitter manis popped off my nails I wanted to test this new basecoat with that same finish. China Glaze Material Girl (Eye Candy, Winter 2011) is a rose and holographic glitter packed in a clear base:

Picture taken in sunlight. This applied pretty well, though it got thicker by the time I started doing my left hand (I paint my nails one hand at a time.) The glitter is very dense so I got opaque coverage in three coats. There’s a variety of rose glitter here, from fine to different-sized hexagonal glitter. The hexagonal holographic glitter is of the largest size, and although there’s only a few bits here and there, it makes the finish look a little more interesting. I like this because it’s a full coverage, sparkly glitterbomb, but this particular shade of pink can look pretty bland. I wish it was the color of Marilyn Monroe’s iconic pink dress when she sang “Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend” in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes! I paired this with OPI Glove You So Much! on my toes.

<3sarah

