I really wanted to wear one of those glitterbomb-type polishes today, but I didn’t feel like taking the time to layer over black, so I decided to put these so-called 3D glitters to the test. China Glaze Marry a Millionaire (Eye Candy, Winter 2011) is a mix of purple glitter and green bar glitter in a clear base:

Picture taken in sunlight. (Click to see this more clearly.) I didn’t think so after applying the first coat, but it really does build to opacity. I used three coats. As expected, the formula is thick because the clear base is loaded with glitter (as it needs to be to acheive opacity on its own), but it’s not that hard to work with. One coat of topcoat certainly won’t make it glassy smooth but that’s okay, since the mani already looks very thick. I’m afraid the polish might just pop off my nails eventually but that could actually come in handy when I’m ready to remove it. It’s hard to tell when you’re looking at the polish directly (the glitteriness is so intense!), but looking at my photos, there’s more going on than I originally thought. There’s two shades of purple glitter; a royal purple and a lighter, silvery purple, as well as turquoise green and chartreuse bar glitter. The green lights up against the purple when looked at at the right angle. I didn’t think I could like a polish with bar glitter, but it looks great in this mix! It totally works when it’s part of an opaque blend. I paired this with China Glaze C-C-Courage on my toes.

I’m still in sort of a daze after watching the Australian Open men’s final yesterday. I thought I was stressed after Nole’s semifinal match; this was on a different level! It was Nole and Rafa’s 30th meeting, and the first to go to 5 sets. At 5 hours and 53 minutes, it was the longest major final in the Open Era, and the longest match in Australian Open history. I found it amusing that on the program guide, ESPN2 allotted a paltry 3 1/2 hours for this match, just 3 excluding the 30 mins. of pre-match coverage (come on, these guys once played a 3-setter that went four hours!) It went on for so long that it cut well into the time allotted for the re-air! With the win, Nole has his fifth major, his third Australian Open title, and his third consecutive major title. 😀 I can’t even begin to analyze this epic well enough to do it justice. I can only applaud the effort Nole and Rafa put up. I can’t imagine how exhausted they both must have been immediately afterwards, watching them struggling to stand during the trophy ceremony. I kind of want to see the match again so I can watch the points without feeling like I’m gonna have a heart attack! And this is just the start of the season, oh boy…

<3sarah

