I started out the tournament wearing a blue and red mani/pedi, and although I haven’t been matching my nails to kit colors this entire fortnight, I just had to end the tournament with more red and blue, especially after watching Novak Djokovic’s hard-fought, five-set, semifinal win over Andy Murray to reach the final, the third consecutive slam final against Rafa Nadal. China Glaze Ruby Deer (‘Tis the Season to be Naughty and Nice, Holiday 2010) is a bright cherry red creme:

Picture taken in sunlight. This applied well; the formula has some jelly qualities so it’s not a really solid creme. It looked decent at two coats but I used three to get that extra -opaque look. It’s a great shade of pin-up red, bright without being too orange-toned. The color and glossy finish make me think of maraschino cherries, which are the only cherries I like to eat (although strangely, I do like cherry-flavored things.) I realize this is the first red-red creme I’ve worn this year, and it feels so good to be wearing one! There will sure be a lot more in February. I paired this with Maybelline Denim Dash (Express Finish) on my toes.

I went through a veritable five-hour emotional rollercoaster watching Nole play that semifinal. Sleepy at the start (with Melbourne being sixteen hours ahead I had to get up at 3:30am). Relaxed when Nole won the first set. Confident when he went a break up in the second. Annoyed when Murray eventually won that set. Frustrated at all the unforced errors and by how many times they were breaking each other’s serve, causing so many shifts in momentum. Angry when Nole lost the third set in a tiebreak after having held set points. Relieved when Murray tanked the fourth to save energy for the fifth. In despair when Nole was broken at love as he was serving for the match at 5-3. Positively frantic in the last few games of the match because of all the break points faced and saved. Finally, overwhelming joy when Nole broke Murray to win the final set 7-5. I can’t wait to do it all again early Sunday morning!

<3sarah

