After seeing how long my nails had gotten, I filed them down and I thought a dark color like this would be perfect to put on newly-shortened nails.  American Apparel Imperial Purple (Fall 2011) is a deep royal blurple creme:

Picture taken in sunlight. (This doesn’t look quite as blue in real life as it does in the photo. Why do these never photograph properly?)  This applied well; it was nearly pigmented enough for one coat but I ended up using two. You have to take care to not overload the brush with polish, as the excess will run down the long brush stem. I feel like this blurple leans more towards purple as opposed to having lots of blue, but it’s so dark that these subtleties in tone aren’t really noticed unless you really look at it in the light. I wish it was more of a straightforward purple (I feel like it would look more royal/regal that way), but it’s undeniably a very rich color, plus it was very pigmented and smooth.  I paired this with Sephora by OPI Break a Leg-Warmer! on my toes.

<3sarah

