Now that it’s really winter and the holidays are over, I like to use January to try dark, vampy colors.  Chanel Black Velvet (Noir et Or, Paris-Shanghai Collection) is a black satin creme:

Picture taken in sunlight.  This applied well in two coats.  This photo actually shows my second attempt at this mani; my first attempt looked like a horrible, bubbly mess.  Although the polish went on smoothly, I noticed quite a bit of bubbling once the polish was dry.  Perhaps I made my coats too thick then, but I also think this sort of finish is prone to bubbling.  I still experienced some bubbling after doing thinner coats with my second try.  While I love the concept of the satin finish, the bubbles make the surface look so bumpy, spoiling the whole look. I definitely wouldn’t recommend picking this (or any other satin polish) for a mani if you have something to do soon after; it will get banged up in some way.  I paired this with Lippmann Funky Chunky (I know this is the same color but I had to cross it off my untrieds list somehow) on my toes.

<3sarah

