I have several yet-untried taupes to take care of this month, but I think this is the only creme.  Illamasqua Stagnate (Toxic Nature, Spring 2011) is a reddish-brown medium taupe creme:

Picture taken in natural light.  This applied well in two coats, but it definitely didn’t have the very richly pigmented, buttery smooth formula typical of Illamasqua polishes.  For that I’m a little disappointed by it, but only because I judged it against its own brand’s high standards.  As far as the shade of taupe goes, it was quite unexpected.  For some reason I thought this would be a greyish taupe, but on the nail it looked more brown.  I still think it’s a middling, neutral shade of taupe, but I guess it leans more towards the brown side than the grey.  When I looked at it closer in the light, I saw that it was slightly red-toned.  Nothing terribly exciting but it does look good.  I paired this with MAC Cool Reserve on my toes.

<3sarah

