I know the holidays are far off but I’m anticipating having a lot more holiday-themed polishes to wear next month, so I thought I’d take care of this one now.  OPI Merry Midnight (Holiday Wishes, Holiday 2009) is a deep reddish-purple base with champagne and blue microglitter, and orange flaky glitter:

Picture taken in sunlight.  This applied pretty well but as expected, the base was rather sheer, to allow the glitter to shine through.  I needed three coats plus a few touchups for solid coverage.  It’s totally worth it, though, because the end result is gorgeous!  The base color builds to a rich plummy shade, and the different types of glitter look great mixed in there.  It’s great that the flaky glitter is so prominent!  It looks like burning embers.  There’s not much blue microglitter but when it catches the light it just pops.  The champagne microglitter isn’t really distinct, but it’s definitely needed to give the finish a more rounded, complete look.  This polish has a lot going on but all the elements somehow work together in a lovely way.  I paired this with Milani Totally Cool on my toes.

<3sarah

