For the final days of this year’s US Open I chose another gorgeous navy.  I did my nails hours before men’s semifinal play began, before knowing who won.  I am so unbelievably happy that my two favorite players, Nole and Rafa, made it through to the final, a rematch of last year.  This is exactly the result I was hoping for!  Having worn Load a couple of manis ago, it only made sense that I try this one too.  Illamasqua Phallic is a dark sapphire blue with blue microglitter:

Picture taken in sunlight.  This applied so well and very smoothly.  I got perfect coverage in two coats.  (This is another one I left untried for way too long.)  Calling this gorgeous is an understatement.  The finish isn’t really like a typical microglitter; it appears to have this incredible depth to it.  In the shade this just looks like a dark midnight blue, with just a hint of that blue sparkle lying deep underneath the surface.  But it totally comes alive in the light!  Again, this is unlike a typical microglitter in that it’s not overtly or obviously sparkly, but the microglitter is in there, creating a beautiful lit-from-within effect.  It’s absolutely stunning.  When I call this sapphire blue, it’s because it really makes my nails look like sapphires (and I’m not just saying that ’cause I was watching something about the Titanic as I painted).  I don’t know why it’s called Phallic, but I’m not complaining.  I paired this with Barielle Pin-Up on my toes (I was happy to see that Nole has some red in his kit).

Déjà vu is a funny feeling.  This Saturday last year I was doing the exact same thing, watching the men’s semifinals at home, riding an emotional rollercoaster.  And watching Nole face two match points down against Roger Federer.  Just like last year, Nole saved those match points and went on to win the match in a deciding fifth set.  That comeback last year was amazing, but I think this year’s was even more impressive, since he rallied from two sets to love down.  Not only that, but he faced those match points while Federer was serving for it. (Seriously, that return ace he hit at 40-15 was unreal!)  Coming back to win a match in a slam after being down two sets to love seems impossible against Federer, but it happened at this year’s Wimbledon, and it happened again today. 🙂  I love Rafa too, but I’m hoping the result of Monday’s final will be the opposite of last year’s, and that Nole will raise the championship trophy.  Idemo!!!

<3sarah

