I could hardly think about 4th of July weekend with The Championships on my mind.  It’s all about Novak Djokovic. 😀  I’m immensely happy and proud that he acheieved both a career goal (reaching the No. 1 ranking) and realized a childhood dream (winning Wimbledon).  He is having an unparalleled season so far, losing only one match in 49 played, and has already won eight titles, including four Masters Series and two Grand Slams.  I am certainly looking forward to the rest of the season.  But anyway, for my 4th of July mani I chose Orly Retro Red (Plastix, Fall 2010), a reddish coral satin creme:

Picture taken in natural light.  (I would have waited for sunlight but I was afraid I would smudge my nails even more than they already are here.)  This applied well, like a regular creme polish.  I needed three coats for opaque, even coverage.  I’m a little disappointed that this isn’t a true red; it’s more of a red-orange with strong coral tones.  It’s a lovely color nonetheless, it’s just that with a name like “Retro Red” I would have expected that classic, pin-up, lipstick red-red, or something that looked like a red leather jacket.  I do adore the satin finish; it still looks a little matte, but not flat and chalky.  The big downside to this polish, though, is the dry time.  Maybe because the formula had a consistency like regular nail polish, or maybe it was because of the humidity, but I found this took forever to dry through.  Even though my nails were dry to the touch, they were still very dentable, even after trying to set them with ice water.  I couldn’t wait around for it to dry completely so my mani got wrecked within hours of finishing it. 😦  I wish it did dry faster, ’cause I like most everything else about this polish!  I paired this with Sally Hansen Thinking of Blue (Complete Salon Manicure) on my toes.

<3sarah

