I had this mani planned for today, fully expecting Rafael Nadal to still be in the tournament, to be in the final, even!  (I was sad that he didn’t make it through, but am extremely happy that Novak Djokovic is in the final!!!)  Although Rafa’s already lost, I still wanted to do this NOTD in the color of the shirt in his kit.  It was a puzzling color, but I think I found a pretty close match in Orly Hot Shot (High Voltage, Summer 2008), a pinkish red-orange neon creme:

Picture taken in natural light.  (Ugh, the sun is hiding today.  I can see it behind the clouds but it refuses to come out.  This looks much brighter and bolder in real life.)  It applied well, needing three coats for opacity and evenness.  It isn’t the brightest I’ve seen, but it still has a good, glowy quality.  I also like the color; I think it’s a fairly unique shade for a neon.  Again, it feels weird to have a neon on my nails now, especially ’cause it has just snowed quite a bit.  I certainly wish I could be in Melbourne right now!  I paired this with Barielle U-Concrete-Me on my toes.

Sorry, a bit of tennis rambling (I actually wrote it the day I did my previous post but I wanted to put it at the end of this one.):  So, Rafa lost in the quarterfinals.  Despite having a lingering virus, he seemed to be in good form, not dropping a set the whole tournament.  But early in the match, he seemed to have injured something, and he was not the same after that.  His countryman, David Ferrer, had a strong performance and went on to win in straight sets.  I have such respect for Rafa, because he has has such respect for his friend and for the game of tennis.  After a certain point, him losing was an inevitability, but he did not retire.  He didn’t tank the match, either; he played the points as best he could. Although it was clear that he wasn’t feeling his best on court and that an injury was keeping him from playing like he usually does, he didn’t want to use that as an excuse for his loss.  When asked about it by the media, he highlighted the strength and level of play of his opponent.  While the possibility of a “Rafa Slam” is now over, he recognizes what he has accomplished this past year, winning three slams in a row (among many other things), even calling himself lucky to have done so. (It’s no small feat!)  Class, pure class.

<3sarah

