Today’s NOTD is grey to match the shorts in Rafa Nadal’s kit, and to reflect my current mood.  I’m not so sad that he lost, just sad that he couldn’t play at his best.  Not to take anything away from his opponent and friend, David Ferrer, who played a great match and whom I also love (what can I say — I adore the Armada.)  But anyway, on to the polish.  Orly Pixie Dust (Once Upon a Time, Fall 2009) is a bluish light grey with tiny flakes of silver microglitter:

Picture taken in artificial light.  (My NOTD matches the weather, too, so there was no direct sunlight and natural light was just not enough to show the glitter.)  This applied well; the formula was a little thick but totally fine to work with.  I needed three coats for full opacity/evenness.  What’s really special about this polish is the microglitter.  It looks more like, say, flaky glitter that’s been ground up.  It gives a beatutiful, sparkly sheen to the finish; I think the name is perfect!  Plus, something about the bluish tone of the grey makes the shade look…ethereal.  For these Aussie Open manis I’ve usually paired the mani with a pedi in a different color on a player’s kit, but I only have one polish that I think matches the color of Rafa’s shirt, and I was planning on using that for my next mani.  So for this NOTD I doubled up on the grey and paired it with Sally Hansen Gunmetal (Xtreme Wear) on my toes.

<3sarah

