I’ve done my nails in a dark red in honor of the True Blood finale. 🙂  Despite today’s cloudy weather after days and days of sun, I’m in an extra-happy mood; the US Open has turned out just how I wanted it to, with two of my favorite players (Novak Djokovic and Rafa Nadal) in the final. 😀  MAC Concubine (Jin Soon For MAC Nail Trend, Fall/Winter 2010) is a deep cherry red with red microglitter:

Picture taken in artificial light.  (Since there is absolutely no sunlight, I’ve resorted to photographing this under a halogen bulb.  I tried taking pictures in natural light, but they did neither the color nor the sparkle justice.)  This applied well; the formula had good flow, although the red base was rather jelly-like so I needed three coats to eliminate VNL.  The color deepens with each coat, and it really does look best at three.  I wish the sun was meant to come out today; I can only imagine the finish would’ve looked even better in that kind of light.  This is a gorgeous, sparkly red, and the slight berry tone makes it look more fall than holiday.  I paired this with LA Splash Crimson Tide on my toes.

<3sarah

