After wearing so many pastels and soft shades in April, I wanted to try bolder, brighter colors for this month.  Barielle Daring Dahlia (Wildflower, Spring 2010) is a purplish fuchsia with a subtle pink shimmer:

Picture taken in sunlight.  The formula was on the thin side so I needed three coats to achieve desired opacity.  But it did apply well and flowed nicely.  I love this shade; the color deepens with each successive coat.  I also like the secret shimmer; it’s quite fine but not so subtle that you can’t tell it’s there.  I paired this with Sally Hansen Urgent Orchid (Insta-Dri) on my toes.

As the saying goes, April showers bring May flowers (and a lot of the names of the polishes I’ve picked out for this month have something to do with flowers).  When I was in Europe last summer, it was the first time that I had a camera to myself on vacation.  I had recently learned how to use the macro setting, and I was compelled to take lots of pictures of flowers.  (I hadn’t started taking NOTDs, though!  I had long, Dita Von Teese-style pointed oval nails then.)  I figured I’d share one along with each of this month’s NOTDs. 🙂

I’m no flower expert, so I wouldn’t be able to name any of the ones I took pictures of, oops.  But they were pretty to look at!  And I do remember where I took each of these photos.  This was from a little garden in Chatres, France:

<3sarah

