When I first bought my bottle of Essie Matte About You, I used it all the time.  I haven’t done a matte mani in a while because the formula got too thick, but I added some thinner and it’s usable again!  So I put it over Wet n Wild Lust (Craze), a hot pink shimmer:

Picture taken in natural light.  (Please excuse the white dots; I find this happening more often than not as I go through the bottle of Matte About You.  They’re far less noticeable in real life.)  Lust’s formula was a breeze to work with.  It was fairly pigmented and streak-free at one coat, but I did two anyway.  I let the polish dry for a bit before applying the matte topcoat, otherwise the brush can pick up some pigment.  Although the brightness of color is a bit diminished, I love this polish matte!  The shimmer keeps it from looking totally flat.  I paired this with Barielle Secret Encounter on my toes.

This mani has a very velvety appearance; it makes me think of things like this:

Crumbs cosmopolitan cupcakes, created for Sex and the City.  Soooo delicious. 😀

<3sarah

