Now that it’s March I wanted to switch up my color palette, plus I wanted to try the last of these polishes from this collection. Illamasqua Faux Pas (Theatre of the Nameless, Fall 2011) is a bluish medium purple satin creme:

Picture taken in natural light. (I wish I had sunlight for this photo! I tried to pick the one that turned out the most purple.) This applied well; it was nicely pigmented and I got full coverage in two coats. I’m not sure why, but this is not the shade of purple I was expecting. I bought it, put it away in my Helmer, and didn’t look that closely at it until I used it for my mani. I assumed this was a dusty purple shade, but it’s actually a pretty rich, vibrant color. Kind of like a fall version of something like China Glaze Grape Pop. I know there’s an Orly polish out there in the same vein (I don’t have it but I know they’re not exact dupes), and because of it I can’t get the phrase “purple pleather” out of my head whenever I look at this color and finish combination. Like this would be the exact shade of a purple leather jacket…with zebra trim. I put on topcoat soon after taking the photo, and I didn’t mind sacrificing the satin finish because the color is great, too! I paired this with MAC Light Affair on my toes.

<3sarah

